Pacific Wrecks
Pacific Wrecks    
  Missing In Action (MIA) Prisoners Of War (POW) Unexploded Ordnance (UXO)  
Chronology Locations Aircraft Ships Submit Info How You Can Help Donate
    Sanma Province  Vanuatu (Republic of Vanuatu, New Hebrides)

Sanma Province is located in the northern center of Vanuatu (Republic of Vanuatu, New Hebrides). The province name is derived from the first letters of the two main islands: "San" for Santo (Espiritu Santo) and "Ma" for Malo. The provincial capital is Lunganville on the southeast corner of Santo (Espiritu Santo).

Espiritu Santo Island (Santo)
Small island east of Espiritu Santo (Santo) includes Lunganville (Santo).

Segond Channel
SS President Coolidge shipwreck, Million Dollar Point

Aore Island
Borders Segond Channel off Lunganville on Espiritu Santo

Tutuba Island
Located to the southeast of Espiritu Santo Island

Matte Vulu Island
Small island off the eastern edge of Espiritu Santo near Vaucluse Passange and Turtle Bay.

Mavia Island (Mafia)
Small island east of Espiritu Santo (Santo). During the Pacific War, known to Americans as "Mafia Island". Borders Undine Passage to the south.

Aesi Island (Aessi)
Small island east of Espiritu Santo (Santo). At the southern end is Urene Point. Borders Undine Passage and Mavia Island (Mafia) to the north.

Palikulo Island
Small island bordering Palikulo Bay to the west and Lunganville (Santo) to the south.


Contribute Information
Do you have photos or additional information to add?

Last Updated
February 4, 2018


Map Fallingrain
  Discussion Forum Daily Updates Reviews Museums Interviews & Oral Histories  
Pacific Wrecks Inc. All rights reserved.
Donate Now Facebook Twitter YouTube Google Plus Instagram