Pacific Wrecks
Pacific Wrecks    
  Missing In Action (MIA) Prisoners Of War (POW) Unexploded Ordnance (UXO)  
Chronology Locations Aircraft Ships Submit Info How You Can Help Donate
    Republic of Vanuatu (New Hebrides)  
The Republic of Vanuatu is an island chain located in the South Pacific Ocean. Known as "New Hebrides" during the Pacific War until independence on July 30, 1980 when officially renamed "Republic of Vanuatu". Also known as simply "Vanuatu". The capital is Port Vila (Vila). Borders the Solomon Islands to the northwest.

Wartime History
During the Pacific War, the New Hebrides was a major staging area early in the war for the Guadalcanal campaign. Occupied by the American forces on March 18, 1942. At the time, New Hebrides were then the most forward American base to the Solomons. Although no combat took place here, the islands and harbors were developed into bases and staging areas.

Vanuatu Provinces
Torba Province  includes the Banks Islands and Torees Islands
Sanma Province  includes Espiritu Santo and Malo Island
Penama Province  includes Pentecost Island, Ambae and Maewo
Malampa Province  includes Ambrym, Malakula, Paama
Shefa Province  includes Efate, Shepherd Islands
Tafea Province  includes Tanna, Aniwa, Futuna, Erromango, Anatom

Contribute Information
Do you have photos or additional information to add?

Last Updated
October 23, 2019


Map Fallingrain
  Discussion Forum Daily Updates Reviews Museums Interviews & Oral Histories  
Pacific Wrecks Inc. All rights reserved.
Donate Now Facebook Twitter YouTube Instagram