Pacific Wrecks
Pacific Wrecks    
  Missing In Action (MIA) Prisoners Of War (POW) Unexploded Ordnance (UXO)  
Chronology Locations Aircraft Ships Submit Info How You Can Help Donate
    South Korea (Republic of Korea)  

Southern half of the Korean Peninsula. Borders Democratic People's Republic of Korea (North Korea) to the north. Officially known as the Republic of Korea (ROK) or South Korea.

Japanese Occupation
Following the Kangwha Island Incident of 1875, Japan dislodged the Chinese Qing Dynasty forces from the Korean Peninsula. After the 1904-1905 Russo-Japanese War, Japan issued the Eulsa Treaty in 1905 declaring the Korean peninsula as a Japanese protectorate.

On August 22, 1910 the Japan–Korea Annexation Treaty officially annexed the Korean Peninsula. During 1937, Governor-General, General Jirō Minami, banned Korean language, literature, and culture. Cities and towns were given Japanese names. In 1939, Koreans were required to use Japanese names under the Sōshi-kaimei policy.

Pacific War
During the Sino-Japanese War and Pacific War, Japanese utilized Korean laborers and natural resources for their war effort. In 1938, the Colonial Government established labor conscription. In total roughly 2.6 million Koreans labored for the Japanese and 723,000 worked for Japanese outside the Korean peninsula.

During July-August 1945, American aircraft bombed targets on the Korean Peninsula and offshore shipping. After the surrender of Japan, American forces occupied South Korea and advanced to the 38th Parallel, meeting Soviet forces that entered North Korea during late August 1945.

  Capital city located on the Han River
  Port city located in the southeast corner of the Korean Peninsula

Incheon (인천)
On September 8, 1945, US Army Lt. Gen. John R. Hodge arrived at Incheon to accept the surrender of the Japanese forces south of the 38th Parallel. Appointed as military governor, General Hodge directly controlled South Korea as head of the United States Army Military Government in Korea (USAMGIK) during 1945-1948.

South Gyeongsang Province, South Korea.

Jeju-do (Saishu Island)
Located in the Korea Strait, between the Korean Peninsula and Japan

Contribute Information
Do you have photos or additional information to add?

Last Updated
August 25, 2018


  Discussion Forum Daily Updates Reviews Museums Interviews & Oral Histories  
Pacific Wrecks Inc. All rights reserved.
Donate Now Facebook Twitter YouTube Google Plus Instagram