Pacific Wrecks
Pacific Wrecks    
  Missing In Action (MIA) Prisoners Of War (POW) Unexploded Ordnance (UXO)  
Chronology Locations Aircraft Ships Submit Info How You Can Help Donate
    Russell Island Group (Russell Islands) Central Province Solomon Islands
The Russell Island Group is located to the northwest of Guadalcanal. Named "Russell Islands" in honor of British Lord John Russell, Prime Minister 1846-1852. Also known as simply as the "Russells". When first discovered in the middle 1800's, they were named Cape Marsh in the incorrect belief they were an extension of Guadalcanal. During 1942, some coastwatchers still used this name.

The Russell islands were developed by the Levers Brothers and planted with coconut palms harvesting copra.

Wartime History
On February 21, 1943 during "Operation Cleanslate" occupied without opposition by the U. S. Marine Corps (USMC). Afterwards, developed into an American base and airfield area.

Pavuvu Island
Largest island in the Russell Islands Group

Baisen Island
Small island to the north of Pavuvu

Banika Island
Island developed with two airfields: Renard Field (South Field, Yandina) and North Field (Banika, Sunlight)

Yandina Island
Small island in the Russell Islands Group, east of Banika

Contribute Information
Do you have photos or additional information to add?

Last Updated
September 27, 2018


  Discussion Forum Daily Updates Reviews Museums Interviews & Oral Histories  
Pacific Wrecks Inc. All rights reserved.
Donate Now Facebook Twitter YouTube Google Plus Instagram