Pacific Wrecks
Pacific Wrecks   Donate Now  
Search Chronology Locations Aircraft Vessels Missing In Action (MIA)
    Solomon Islands  

Solomon Islands is an island chain in the Pacific. Also known as simply the Solomons or abbreviated SI. Borders Papua New Guinea (PNG) to the west and Vanuatu (New Hebrides) to the south.

Wartime History
During the Pacific War, the Solomon Islands had tremendous historical significance as the first American amphibious operation of the Pacific War when the U. S. Marine Corps (USMC) landed on Tulagi and Guadalcanal. Fierce land, sea and air battles were waged on Guadalcanal followed by the subsequent campaigns up the Solomon Island chain.

The Solomons we both damaged and enhanced by the war, with many roads, airfields and infrastructure built. Postwar, the United Kingdom began transitioning the Solomon Island towards independence by establishing a local council system, elections and in 1974 adopted a constitution. On July 7, 1978 the Solomon Islands became an independent nation.

Provinces of the Solomon Islands
Central Province comprised of the Florida Island Group including Savo, Florida and Russell.
Choiseul Province comprised of Choiseul Island and offshore islands.
Guadalcanal Province comprised of Guadalcanal fierce land, sea and air battles 1942-1943.
Makira-Ulawa Province comprised of San Cristobal Island (Makira) in the southeast Solomons.
Malaita Province comprised of Malaita Island and offshore islands.
Rennell and Bellona Province comprised by Rennell Island, Bellona Island and Indispensable Reef.
Santa Isabel Province (Isabel Province)  comprised of Santa Isabel Island and offshore islands.
Temotu Province comprised of the Santa Cruz Islands, Battle of Santa Cruz (Battle of the South Pacific).
Western Province comprised of New Georgia, Rendova, Arundel, Ghizo, Kolombangara, Ghizo and Shortlands.

Contribute Information
Do you have photos or additional information to add?

Last Updated
August 15, 2017


    All rights reserved.  
  Pacific Wrecks Inc. is a non-profit 501(c)(3) charity dedicated to bringing home those Missing In Action (MIA) and leveraging new technologies in the study of World War II Pacific and the Korean War.  
Facebook Twitter YouTube Google Plus Instagram
Forum Updates People Museums Reviews Submit Info How You Can Help