Pacific Wrecks
Pacific Wrecks    
  Missing In Action (MIA) Prisoners Of War (POW) Unexploded Ordnance (UXO)  
Chronology Locations Aircraft Ships Submit Info How You Can Help Donate
    New Guinea  

New Guinea is the second largest island in the world. To the south is Australia, to the east is the Solomon Islands and to the west is Indoneisa.

The western half of New Guinea was known as Dutch New Guinea administered by the Dutch. The eastern half was divided between Papua in the southeast and New Guinea in the northeast administered by Germany until the World War I, then Australia.

Wartime History
During World War II, New Guinea was the site of intense fighting and battles on land, sea and air that lasted from the start of the Pacific War until the surrender of Japan.

The western half is part of Indoneisa including Papua Province (Provinsi Papua, Irian Jaya) and West Papua Province (Papua Barat, West Irian Jaya). The eastern half is Papua New Guinea.

Contribute Information
Do you have photos or additional information to add?

Last Updated
June 15, 2019


  Discussion Forum Daily Updates Reviews Museums Interviews & Oral Histories  
Pacific Wrecks Inc. All rights reserved.
Donate Now Facebook Twitter YouTube Google Plus Instagram