Pacific Wrecks
Pacific Wrecks    
  Missing In Action (MIA) Prisoners Of War (POW) Unexploded Ordnance (UXO)  
Chronology Locations Aircraft Ships Submit Info How You Can Help Donate
    Dutch New Guinea (Irian Jaya, Papua, West Papua)  Indonesia

Dutch New Guinea was the western half of New Guinea, bordering Papua New Guinea to the east. After Indonesian Independence, the area became known as "Irian Jaya". Since 2002, divided between Papua Province (Irian Jaya) and West Papua (West Irian Jaya).

Wartime History
On March 5, 1942 Imperial General Headquarters by Navy Directive No. 62 ordered Commander-in-Chief, Combined Fleet, upon completion of the Battle of the Java Sea was to annihilate the remaining enemy force in the Dutch New Guinea and to occupy strategic points of that territory. The objectives of the occupation were to survey the country for possible sites for air bases, anchorages and oilfields, as well to secure a good communication and supply line with British New Guinea. The Japanese claimed zero casualties in their occupation of the area. The area was the site of several daring island hopping amphibious landings by Americans, but the history of operations in this region are less known than more "famous" battles in Papua New Guinea. Many of the Japanese troops in this area were isolated until the end of the war, to starve or otherwise bypassed by Allied island hopping and attacked from the air.

Contribute Information
Do you have photos or additional information to add?

Last Updated
August 25, 2018


  Discussion Forum Daily Updates Reviews Museums Interviews & Oral Histories  
Pacific Wrecks Inc. All rights reserved.
Donate Now Facebook Twitter YouTube Google Plus Instagram