Pacific Wrecks
Pacific Wrecks    
  Missing In Action (MIA) Prisoners Of War (POW) Unexploded Ordnance (UXO)  
Chronology Locations Aircraft Ships Submit Info How You Can Help Donate
    Obi Islands (Ombirah, Kepulauan Obi) North Maluku Province Indonesia

The Obi Islands are located in the Molucca Island Group (Molucca Islands). Major islands include Bisa Island, Obilatu Island and Obira Island. Also known as Ombirah or Kepulauan Obi. Prewar and during the Pacific War located in the Netherlands East Indies (NEI). Today located in North Maluku Province (Provinsi Maluku Utara) in Indonesia. To the north are the Bacan Islands and Halmahera Island and the Halmahera Sea. To the south is Maluku Province (Provinsi Maluku) including Boeroe Island (Buru, Buroe) and Ceram (Seram) and the Ceram Sea.

Obi Island (Obi Major Island)
Obi Island was also known as Obi Major Island. Occupied by the Japanese for the duration of the war. During June 1945 an Australian Army Far Eastern Liaison Office (FELO) 'J' Mission conducted a mission on Obi Island searching for intelligence. The Japanese established a POW Camp on Obi.

Contribute Information
Do you have photos or additional information to add?

Last Updated
October 23, 2019


  Discussion Forum Daily Updates Reviews Museums Interviews & Oral Histories  
Pacific Wrecks Inc. All rights reserved.
Donate Now Facebook Twitter YouTube Instagram