Pacific Wrecks
Pacific Wrecks    
  Missing In Action (MIA) Prisoners Of War (POW) Unexploded Ordnance (UXO)  
Chronology Locations Aircraft Ships Submit Info How You Can Help Donate
    North Maluku Province (Provinsi Maluku Utara)  Indonesia

North Maluku Province (Provinsi Maluku Utara) encompasses the northern half of the Molucca Islands and borders Maluku Province (Provinsi Maluku) to the south and West Papua Province to the east and Sulawesi (Celebes) to the west. Borders the Pacific Ocean to the north and east. Also, the Halmahera Sea to the east and Ceram Sea to the south and Molucca Sea to the west. During the 16th and 17th centuries, the Moluccas Islands were the center of the spice trade, supplying Europe with the cloves, nutmeg and mace.

Wartime History
During February of 1942 occupied by the Japanese, including many islands for the duration of the Pacific War.

The 999 islands of the Moluccas are some of the most isolated and unrecognised part of Indonesia.

  Allied airfields developed into a major base
  Island at the end of Dutch New Guinea
Miti Island   Located off the eastern coast of Halmahera
  Located to the west of Halmahera, prewar Dutch colonial government seat
 Small island off Halmahera
  Located between Halmahera and Ceram (Seram)

Contribute Information
Do you have photos or additional information to add?

Last Updated
June 15, 2019


  Discussion Forum Daily Updates Reviews Museums Interviews & Oral Histories  
Pacific Wrecks Inc. All rights reserved.
Donate Now Facebook Twitter YouTube Google Plus Instagram