MIA 2nd Lt. Daniel W. Davis B25 lost over Bougainville

Details about those listed as missing or killed in the Pacific, including current search operations.

Moderator: Moderator

piperl4
Corporal

MIA 2nd Lt. Daniel W. Davis B25 lost over Bougainville

Post by piperl4 »

I am trying to find any information I can on my Uncles B25 that was lost over Bougainville in I beleve 1943. His name was 2nd Lt Daniel W. Davis and his National Archives ID is 0-796788. He was reported MIA for a long time then changed to KIA but his body was never returned and he is listed as FOB now on the National Archives site. I am new to researching this information but I am trying to find out what unit he was with and even his aircraft name if I can ever get that far. I beleive his records are part of the ones distroyed in the 70's by the guardians of all the records in St Louis where there seems to be a fire about every 50 years or so. So a lot of his information is now lost but not forgotten. His whole crew was lost as far as I can tell and I am not sure if the wreckage was found or not. Even to know that would be help.